Unions Hold Joint Rally In London Amid Strike Action
Photo by Guy Smallman/Getty Images

Which Universities Are Striking? More Dates Confirmed For 2023

Jasmyne Jeffery January 25, 2023

Strikes across the sectors that dominated the end of 2022 are continuing into 2023. The University and College Union (UCU) has confirmed more strike days for university staff in February and March, affecting 150 universities. Industrial action is being taken over fair pay, working conditions and pensions. Students who attend UCU universities will need to know which universities are striking.

Days of industrial action for university staff will continue into the next couple of months. Having found no reasonable solution to their demands, the UCU say the following strikes will be the “biggest series of strikes ever to hit UK university campuses.” Over 70,000 staff members plan to take industrial action if the meeting with the Universities and Colleges Employers Association (UCEA) is unsuccessful today.

When Are Universities Striking In 2023?

The UCU has confirmed the following days that university strikes are planned to take place across seven weeks.

  • Wednesday 1 February
  • Thursday 9 and Friday 10 February.
  • Tuesday 14, Wednesday 15, and Thursday 16 February.
  • Tuesday 21, Wednesday 22, and Thursday 23 February.
  • Monday 27 and Tuesday 28 February.
  • Wednesday 1 and Thursday 2 March.
  • Thursday 16 and Friday 17 March.
  • Monday 20, Tuesday 21 and Wednesday 23 March.

Strike days can be cancelled all the way up to the day of the strike itself. If the UCU and UCEA come to an agreement then the university strikes won’t take place.

Disruption to universities is expected, however, no closures have been planned or announced yet.

Which Universities Are Striking?

The following universities in the UK have staff joining the February and March strikes.

  • The University of Aberdeen
  • Abertay University
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Arts University, Bournemouth
  • Aston University
  • Bangor University
  • Bath Spa University
  • The University of Bath
  • The University of Bedfordshire
  • University of London, Birkbeck
  • Birmingham City University
  • The University of Birmingham
  • Bishops Grosseteste University
  • The University of Bolton
  • Bournemouth University
  • The University of Bradford
  • The University of Brighton
  • The University of Bristol
  • Brunel University
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • The University of Cambridge
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Cardiff University
  • The University of Central Lancashire
  • The University of Chester
  • The University of Chichester
  • The University of London City
Photo by Guy Smallman/Getty Images
  • Courtauld Institue of Art
  • Coventry University
  • Cranfield University
  • The University of Cumbria
  • De Montfort University
  • The University of Derby
  • The University of Dundee
  • Durham University
  • The University of East Anglia
  • The University of East London
  • Edge Hill University
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • The University of Essex
  • The University of Exeter
  • Falmouth University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Glasgow School of Art
  • The University of Glasgow
  • The University of Gloucestershire
  • University of London Goldsmiths
  • The University of Greenwich
  • Harper Adams University
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • The University of Hertfordshire
  • The University of Huddersfield
  • The University of Hull
  • Imperial College London
  • Institute of Development Studies
  • Keele University
  • The University of Kent
  • King’s College London
  • Kingston University
  • The University of Lancaster
  • Leeds Art University
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • The University of Leeds
  • The University of Leicester
  • The University of Lincoln

What Universities Are Part of UCU Strikes?

  • Liverpool Hope University
  • Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • The University of Liverpool
  • London Metropolitan University
  • London School of Economics
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • London Southbank University
  • Loughborough University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • The University of Manchester
  • Middlesex University
  • Newcastle University
  • Newman University
  • The University of Northampton
  • Northumbria University
  • Norwich University of Arts
  • Nottingham Trent University
  • The University of Nottingham
  • Open University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • The University of Oxford
  • Plymouth Marjon University
  • The University of Plymouth
  • The University of Portsmouth
  • Queen Margaret University
  • University of London Queen Mary
  • Queen’s University Belfast
  • The University of Reading
  • Robert Gordon University
  • Roehampton University
  • Rose Bruford College
  • Royal Academy of Music
  • Royal Agricultural University
  • Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • Royal College of Art
  • Royal College of Music
Photo by Guy Smallman/Getty Images
  • University of London Royal Holloway
  • Royal Northern College of Music
  • University of London Royal College of Veterinary College
  • Ruskin College
  • The University of Salford
  • SAMS at the University of the Highlands and Islands
  • University of London Senate House
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • The University of Sheffield
  • University of London SOAS
  • Solent University
  • The University of South Wales
  • The University of Southampton
  • The University of St Andrews
  • University of London St George’s
  • St Mary’s University College, Belfast
  • St Mary’s University, Twickenham
  • Staffordshire University
  • The University of Stirling
  • Stranmillis University College
  • The University of Strathclyde
  • The University of Suffolk
  • The University of Sunderland
  • The University of Surrey
  • The University of Sussex
  • Swansea University
  • The University of Teesside
  • Trinity Laban
  • The University of Creative Arts UCA
  • Ulster University
  • University College Birmingham
  • University College London
  • University of the Arts London
  • The University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • The University of Warwick
  • The University of West London
  • The University of West England
  • The University of West Scotland
  • The University of Westminister
  • The University of Winchester
  • The University of Wolverhampton
  • The University of Worcester
  • Wrexham Glyndwr University
  • Writtle University College
  • The University of York
  • York St John Univerisity

The university strikes 2023 may result in disruption of your usual lessons or access to facilities on your campus. Your university will let you know in due course how they will be affected by industrial action.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Jasmyne Jeffery is a full-time writer on Freshered after working freelance with GRV Media previously. She attended the University of South Wales where she was also a student blogger. In 2022, she graduated with a first-class honours degree in English and Creative Writing. Jasmyne worked briefly for her local newspaper before heading to university and completing an internship at a publishing company. She is now pursuing and loving a career in journalism. Jasmyne has a particular interest in student news, entertainment, and social media, whilst also (trying!) to help put the world to right. Originally from North Devon, she is currently loving the small-city life in Cardiff.