The 74th Emmy Awards have rolled around again, and a new set of winners have been crowned the best of primetime TV. Most say it’s an honour just to be nominated, but who walked away with the biggest prizes?

TV’s finest gathered at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles to celebrate and award the outstanding creative individuals who brought us some of the year’s best shows. Shows such as Ted Lasso, The White Lotus and Squid Game all picked up awards.

Outstanding Drama Series

Possibly the toughest category of them all. Nominees included Euphoria, Better Call Saul, Stranger Things and Ozark. However, there can only be one winner, and Succession took home the prize.

The comedy-drama started back in 2018 and it was its third series that bagged the outstanding drama award. Starring Jeremy Strong, Sarah Snook and Kieran Culkin, the drama can be found on HBO.

Outstanding Comedy Series

Although it was up against the critically acclaimed Barry and The Marvelous Mrs Maisel, Ted Lasso scooped this award for the second year in a row. The Apple TV comedy broke records last year by becoming the most nominated debut comedy in Emmy history with 20 nominations.

Following the adventures of the optimistic yet inexperienced Ted Lasso as he coaches a British football team, the comedy has just been renewed for a third season.

Outstanding Limited Series

The White Lotus won this award after being nominated along with The Dropout, Pam & Tommy and Succession.

The comedy-drama follows the staff of the fictional White Lotus resort as dark secrets become unveiled. Starring Jennifer Coolidge, Sydney Sweeney and Alexandra Daddario, the series has been renewed for a second season.

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Squid Game’s Lee Jung-jae made history at the Emmys after winning the award. The South Korean actor is the first Asian actor in Emmy history to win and the first to win for a non-English speaking role. In fact, he is only one of four Asian actors to win a performance role.

Netflix 2022 Emmy Awards After Party
Photo by Charley Gallay/Getty Images for Netflix

In his speech, which he then repeated in Korean, he thanked the Television Academy, Netflix and Squid Game’s director.

‘Thank you to the Television Academy, thank you to Netflix and thank you to the director for making realistic problems we all face come to life so creatively on the screen with a great script. Thank you, ‘Squid Game’ team. Thank you to everyone watching in Korea.’

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

The Lead Actress category also made history when Zendaya picked up the award for the second time. The 26-year-old became the youngest actress to win the award twice, having won it for the same role back in 2020.

Zendaya stars as recovering drug-addict Rue in HBO’s Euphoria.

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

This category had two nominations from Only Murders in the Building, but it was Ted Lasso himself that snatched the award. Jason Sudeikis, who also writes the series, won the award for the second time.

Now the series has been renewed for a third series, will Sudeikis make three the magic number?

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

One of three awards won for Hacks at the Emmys, Jean Smarks won Lead Actress for her starring role in the comedy.

The show follows the dark mentorship of an outcast 25-year-old by a legendary stand-up comedienne.

Directing for a Drama Series

Nominated against powerhouses Ben Stiller (Severance) and Jason Bateman (Ozark), Squid Game’s Hwang Dong-hyuk won the dramatic directing award for ‘Red Light, Green Light.’

Squid Game took the world by storm, but it was this episode in particular that rocketed the series into well-deserved mainstream appreciation. Grizzly and gruesome, the world watched behind their fingers as the contestants fought one another and Young-hee.

Directing for a Comedy Series

Picking up another award, Ted Lasso’s MJ Delaney won for ‘No Weddings and a Funeral.’ The critically acclaimed episode is a fan-favourite as Rebecca comes to terms with her sudden loss.

MJ Delaney is now an Emmy and BAFTA award-winning director after making the ’30 Most Powerful Women In Television Under 30,’ list in 2012.

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or TV movie

You may know her best for dancing around Greek islands, or Les Mis’ Fantine, but she’s a dab hand at TV too. That’s right, Amanda Seyfried beat Toni Collette, Sarah Paulson and Lily James to win this award for her role in The Dropout.

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie

It was A-listers a-plenty nominated in this category. Colin Firth, Oscar Isaac, Sebastian Stan, Himesh Patel and Andrew Garfield were all up for the award.

However, it was Hollywood legend Michael Keaton who won for his role in Dopesick. Keaton had previously picked up the Golden Globe for Best Actor for this role too.

74th Primetime Emmys - Show
Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV movie

She’s taking the award, dumbass!

Jennifer Coolidge, of Legally Blonde fame, took home this award, beating Connie Britton, Alexandra Daddario and Sydney Sweeney.

Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or TV movie

One of many awards won for The White Lotus, Murray Bartlett joined Jennifer Coolidge by picking up the supporting award for the comedy series.

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

As if picking up the Outstanding Drama award wasn’t rewarding enough, Matthew Macfadyen won this award for his role in Succession. The actor won against fellow co-stars Kieran Culkin and Nicolas Braun.

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

It wasn’t totally surprising when Julia Garner took this award home with her, again. The actress’ role as Ruth Langmore in Ozark has seen her win this award three times since 2019.

Now the acclaimed Netflix phenomenon is over, it’ll be interesting to see what the 28-year-old does next.

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Joining fellow writer and co-star Jason Sudeikis, Brett Goldstein won this award for his role in Ted Lasso.

The British actor was told off previously for swearing in his acceptance speech, however, old habits die hard. Showing that he really is like his character, Brett swore again in this speech too.

‘Last time I was here I was told not to swear and I did and I’m sorry but it meant the feed got cut back home in the UK so my family never got to hear me say this. So thank you for this second chance…Mum, Dad, Tara, I f****** love you, I really do.’

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Nominated against three Ted Lasso stars and her own co-star Janelle James, Sheryl Lee Ralph won for her role in Abbot Elementary.

And that wraps up all the big awards from The Emmys 2022! Congratulations to all the worthy winners and those nominated too!