Explaining Clear Mode On TikTok And How To Use It
Tik Tok 3D Render Icon
Photo by Eyestetix Studio on Unsplash

Explaining Clear Mode On TikTok And How To Use It

Zoe Kramer November 1, 2022

A lot of us use TikTok as a distraction from daily life. It’s easy to procrastinate when you’re only committing to one 15 -second video, or two, or three. With its notoriously well-targeted algorithm, it’s easy to get completely immersed in the app and lose track of time. But now you have the option to get rid of some of the features on the app that might be distracting you. In other words, you can eliminate the distraction, from the distraction. Clear mode offers a whole new experience of the app.

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

See also: What Is Ambient Mode In YouTube?

What is clear mode?

TikTok began testing clear mode in May, and the feature is now available to the public. This feature allows you to remove the normal UI buttons that are overlaid on top of videos. This means that you can now look at a video in its entirety if you choose, with no likes, comments or other buttons visible on top of it. The feature still enables you to write a comment at the bottom of the screen or exit clear mode, but apart from this, every other feature is invisible. This will be useful for viewing videos where captions may be obscured by these buttons, or to see a frame or picture in its entirety.

The feature does come with some caveats. You can’t leave the feature on while scrolling; you can only turn it on for an individual video. Once you scroll, TikTok will be back to its usual format. In addition, you won’t be able to screen record while in clear mode, since this creates the risk of content being stolen.

How to use clear mode

The clear mode feature has been integrated into the app in such a way that it is relatively easy to use. Start by holding your finger down on the screen until a menu appears. This menu will have the options to save the video, activate clear mode or report the video. Simply tap clear mode and the side bar will disappear, giving you a full look at the video. Hitting the rectangle button in the bottom right of the screen will allow you to exit clear mode. If you are having trouble finding this feature, make sure your app is updated to the latest version.

So go ahead and give clear mode a try and see what you think. For some, it’s a long awaited feature that they always wished was there. Others are fine scrolling the app just as they were, and ignoring the feature.

See also: TikTok Street Photographer Trend Explained And Some Examples

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Zoe Kramer has been writing for GRV Media’s student-centric website Freshered since October 2022 and is now also contributing to HITC. She graduated from Cardiff University in 2022 with a BA in Journalism, Media and English Literature. During her time in university, she worked for her student newspaper as well as completing an internship with a book publisher. She has also written and continues to write book and theatre reviews. She is excited to now be pursuing a career as a journalist and learning something new every day. In particular, she loves writing about student life, books, the Internet, and travel. Originally from the United States, she is enjoying living abroad in the UK.