Where Does Andor Fit In The Timeline As Star Wars Series Drops?
Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) in Lucasfilm's ANDOR
Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) in Lucasfilm's ANDOR ©2022 Lucasfilm Ltd

Where Does Andor Fit In The Timeline As Star Wars Series Drops?

Rachael Grealish September 21, 2022

The latest series in the Star Wars franchise, Andor, has dropped on Disney+ and now fans are wondering how it fits in the timeline.

The Star Wars creators have never gone by the book, the original movies were released in the 1970s and 80s and their prequels came out 30 years later, only for a prequel movie Rogue One and the sequel (and prequel?) series Obi-Wan to be released another 20 years later – so why would Andor be any different?

What is Andor?

Andor brings forward the tale of the burgeoning rebellion against the Empire and how people and planets became involved.

Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) in Lucasfilm’s ANDOR ©2022 Lucasfilm Ltd

It’s an era filled with danger, deception and intrigue where Cassian Andor – a high-level Rebel Intelligence officer who served under Mon Mothma played by Diego Luna – embarks on the path that is destined to turn him into a rebel hero.

Stellan Skarsgard also stars as Luthen Rael, the man who first introduces Andor to the Rebellion, but also outwardly works for the Empire. Where Luke Skywalker has Obi-Wan Kenobi, Andor has Rael.

Where does Andor Fit in the timeline?

Andor is slap-bang in the middle of the Star Wars franchise timeline. The new show is set five years prior to the events of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, but seemingly after the events that took place in the Obi-Wan series and definitely before the original trilogy.

The timeline of the Star Wars franchise, as it currently stands, is:

  • Star Wars: The Phantom Menace
  • Star Wars: Attack of the Clones
  • The Clone Wars
  • Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith
  • The Bad Batch
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story
  • Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Andor
  • Star Wars Rebels
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Star Wars: A New Hope
  • Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back
  • Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
  • The Mandalorian Seasons 1 and 2
  • The Book of Boba Fett
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Currently, many of the inter-movie years have been covered with different stories and tales – with the only really big gap between The Book of Boba Fett and Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which have an approximate 25-year gap.

The other gap is between The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones – the ten-year period in which Anakin Skywalker is growing up and learning to be a Jedi.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Rachael is the Senior Content Editor at Freshered. She is NCTJ qualified with an MA in journalism. Rachael has almost ten years experience as a journalist in regional, national and international press and is passionate about creating engaging content.