person holding silver iphone 6
Photo by CardMapr.nl on Unsplash

How To Turn Off Your Location On BeReal

Zoe Kramer January 25, 2023

BeReal has gained massive popularity over the last year. One of the main reasons for this is because it allows users to take a break from the picture perfect curated images and videos found on other social media. Instead, you can share flawed, goofy, spur of the moment views into your life and see them from your friends. It’s a refreshing way to interact with others online. However, just like any other social media, it’s good to pay attention to privacy. By default, BeReal shares your location when you post. So if you don’t want it to do that, here is how you can turn off your location on BeReal.

How To Disable Location On BeReal

The way that you consider your privacy on BeReal may depend on how you use the app. If you’re just sharing photos or videos with your close friends, for example, you may not mind if they can see your location. If you’re posting on the app’s discover feed, however, you might not want other users to be able to tell where you are, in order to protect your safety.

Photo by Kev Costello on Unsplash

See also: Monthly Trends You Will Want To Try In 2023

One way you can disable the location feature is to do it while you post. Start by creating a new BeReal. You can do this by tapping the notification the app sends you, or by going into the app and selecting ‘Post a Late BeReal.’ Then take whatever pictures or videos you’d like. When these are ready, you can go to the preview screen. Find the location button at the bottom and select ‘location off.’ Then you can send your BeReal without a location attached to it.

How To Turn Off Location Permanently

If you don’t want to turn it off manually every time before posting, you can also turn off your location permanently. For IOS users, go to settings and then scroll down on the list of apps you have installed until you find BeReal. Then, select location and adjust the setting to ‘never.’

For Android users, find your BeReal app and tap and hold. A menu will pop up where you can select app info. From there, select permissions. Then tap on locations. You can then choose to not allow the app to share your location. This will save you having to adjust your settings each time you post, and you can always go back and change it later.

See also: 30 Hilariously Funny Instagram Notes Ideas To Use On Your Friends

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
Zoe Kramer is a full-time staff writer on Freshered. She graduated from Cardiff University in 2022 with a BA in Journalism, Media and English Literature. During her time in university, she worked for her student newspaper as well as completing an internship with a book publisher. She has also written and continues to write book and theatre reviews. She is excited to now be pursuing a career as a journalist and learning something new every day. In particular, she loves writing about student life, books, the Internet, and travel. Originally from the United States, she is enjoying living abroad in the UK.